A Day With Takumar 35mm f2.0

70D Takumar 35mm f2

Okay, from the first time I had a camera, I always relied on the magic motor inside the lens or inside the body to do the focusing part. I never have a manual lenses, I only stand 2 days with my father old camera, and I always thought that using manual lenses is slow, not-reliable, and just-not-for-me …

Until yesterday, my brother-in-law lend me his Super-Multi-Coated TAKUMAR 1:2/35 and SMC TAKUMAR 1:1.4/50 lens.

70D Takumar 35mm f2

So today I gave myself a challenge to take the 35mm for a ride to my friend’s wedding and did some snapshot on the fish market near the wedding location. All using the 35mm, and flip-off the LCD screen, so I could have the feeling of using manual lens on film camera.

So here are the results (post-processed using the shameless cinametic-ish wannabe look haha)

70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2
70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2 70D Takumar 35mm f2

As you may see, some of the images were out of focus … hahaha

Being a person who always use the autofocus system, who just half-press and kick the shutter … using manual lens bring me to a different tensions. The tension that I have to create a composed and focused image, and the tension when I saw the result on the end of the session was just  …. abnormaly great! I mean, I didn’t know whether the image is in focus or not (the beep of AF confirmation was helping me to do the focusing, but not really reliable .. haha). So when I open the image and found that it just perfectly out of focus … I can only laugh at my fault, and strangely become addicted, and want to try again.

Well … maybe I started to become addicted to manual lens … :))

Leave a Reply

